Our mission is to advance business-driven solutions that promote economic growth, opportunity and a skilled workforce. Our core values of trust, leadership, inclusion and community permeate the workforce development system.  The programs we oversee are designed to assure that the businesses in the 14-county North Central Texas Workforce Development area remain competitive and grow jobs, that workers have the opportunities to obtain skills that will help them become or remain self-sufficient, and that our communities are economically resilient. 

The story of our organization begins in 1993, when Texas created a workforce development system that made significant efforts to improve service delivery through local control and coordination of services from different programs.  On May 23, 1996, Governor George W. Bush certified the North Central Texas Workforce Development Area (WDA) and on July 25, 1996, the Chief Elected Officials of the 14-county workforce development area (WDA) signed a partnership agreement forming the North Central Texas Workforce Development Board and selected the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) as its fiscal agent, grant recipient and administrative agent. 

Our workforce development area (WDA) includes Collin, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell and Wise counties. This area is home to more than 2.9 million residents and more than 1.5 million workers. The DFW Metroplex is home to the headquarters of 24 Fortune 500 companies and more than 185,296 business establishments.